You are currently viewing PSL  8 | Drafting | PSL 2023 | Draft date | PCB Announces

PSL 8 | Drafting | PSL 2023 | Draft date | PCB Announces

PSL 8 | Drafting | PSL 2023 | Draft date | PCB Announces

KARACHI: The draft for the eighth edition of the Pakistan Super League will take place on December 15 in the provincial capital. Earlier this month, the Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) confirmed that retentions were finalized by the franchises. Like last season, each of the six franchises will have the Right to Match Card that will allow them to select any player released from their roster during the draft.

PSL 8 | Drafting | PSL 2023 | Draft date | PCB Announces

Here is a look at all the squads after retention:

Islamabad United:

  • Shadab Khan (Platinum).
  • Asif Ali (Brand Ambassador) and Mohammad Wasim Jnr (Diamond).
  • Azam Khan, Faheem Ashraf and Hasan Ali (Gold).
  • Colin Munro and Paul Stirling (Silver).

Karachi Kings:

  • Haider Ali (Platinum).
  • Imad Wasim, Mohammad Amir and Shoaib Malik (Diamond).
  • Aamir Yamin, Mir Hamza and Sharjeel Khan (Silver).
  • Qasim Akram (Emerging).

Lahore Qalandars:

  • Rashid Khan and Shaheen Shah Afridi (Platinum).
  • Haris Rauf (Brand Ambassador) and David Wiese (Diamond).
  • Abdullah Shafique (Gold).
  • Harry Brook and Kamran Ghulam (Silver).
  • Zaman Khan (Emerging).

Multan Sultans:

  • Mohammad Rizwan (Platinum).
  • Khushdil Shah, Rilee Rossouw and Shan Masood (Diamond).
  • Shahnawaz Dahani (Brand Ambassador) and Tim David (Gold).
  • Abbas Afridi and Ihsanullah (Emerging).

Peshawar Zalmi:

  • Babar Azam (Platinum).
  • Sherfane Rutherford and Wahab Riaz (Diamond).
  • Mohammad Haris (Gold).
  • Aamir Jamal (Brand Ambassador),
  • Salman Irshad and Tom-Kohler Cadmore (Silver).

Quetta Gladiators:

  • Mohammad Nawaz (Platinum).
  • Iftikhar Ahmed and Jason Roy (Diamond).
  • Mohammad Hasnain and Sarfaraz Ahmed (Gold).
  • Naveen ul Haq, Umar Akmal (Mentor) and Will Smeed (Silver).

PSL 8 | Drafting | PSL 2023 | Draft date | PCB Announces

Choose the Draft Order

PSL 8 | Drafting | PSL 2023 | Draft date | PCB Announces

The PCB has already revealed the pick order for the draft, where defending champions Lahore Qalandars will make the first pick. Quetta Gladiators and Multan Sultans will have second and third picks. The fourth and fifth picks will be done by Karachi Kings and Islamabad United. Meanwhile, Peshawar Zalmi will make the sixth pick. The next 17 rounds were decided through a special statistical tool.

PSL 8 is scheduled from February 9 to March 19 in Karachi, Multan, Rawalpindi, and Lahore. Lahore Qalandars will defend their title.

PSL 8 | Drafting | PSL 2023 | Draft date | PCB Announces

In all seasons except that of Shahid Afridi in PZ, Peshawar have problem in spinning department. This time many good and wicket taking spinners are in drafting. PZ should keep their eyes on Hasaranga. He can hit sixes and takes crucial wickets


Team City/Province Owner Home Ground/Venue Founded Captain Coach
Islamabad United Islamabad, Capital Territory Leonine Global Sports

(Ali Naqvi & Amna Naqvi)

Rawalpindi Cricket Stadium, Islamabad 2015 Shadab Khan Azhar Mahmood
Karachi Kings Karachi, Sindh ARY Group

(Salman Iqbal, CEO)

National Stadium, Karachi 2015 TBD Peter Moores
Lahore Qalandars Lahore, Punjab Qatar Lubricants Company

(Fawad Rana, MD)

Gaddafi Stadium, Lahore 2015 Shaheen Afridi Aaqib Javed
Multan Sultans Multan, Punjab Alamgir Khan Tareen Multan Cricket Stadium, Multan 2017 Mohammad Rizwan Andy Flower
Peshawar Zalmi Peshawar, Khyber Pakhtunkhwa Haier Pakistan

(Javed Afridi, CEO)

Arbab Niaz Stadium, Peshawar 2015 Babar Azam Daren Sammy
Quetta Gladiators Quetta, Balochistan Omar Associates

(Nadeem Omar, Director)

Bugti Stadium, Quetta 2015 Sarfaraz Ahmed Moin Khan


PSL 2023 | Pakistan Super League | Season 8 | BROADCASTING CHANNELS

Region Broadcasting Channels
Pakistan PTV Sports, Geo Super
Indian Sub-Continent (India, Bangladesh, Sri Lanka, Nepal, Bhutan) Sony Sports Network
Maldives Astro SuperSport, Sony Sports Network
Afghanistan Lemar TV
Brunei, Malaysia Astro SuperSport
Australia beIN SPORTS network, Tapmad TV
New Zealand Sky Sport NZ
Canada Willow TV
United States of America Willow TV
Caribbean Flow Sports
United Arab Emirates eLife TV
United Kingdom (England, Wales, Scotland, Northern Ireland) and Ireland Sky Sports
Qatar Vodafone Sports
Southeast Asia Tapmad TV
 Middle East and North Africa Tapmad TV
 Sub-Saharan Africa SuperSport
 South America Tapmad TV
Europe Tapmad TV


PSL 2023 Schedule | Fixtures | Squads | Players List | Teams | PSL Team Stats | Records | Pakistan Super League | 2016-2023